< >

Parma Churned Butter, Italy


This page contains the weekly wholesale prices for Churned Butter made from fresh cream specifically for buttermaking in the province of Parma, achieved by blending creams produced when milk is processed into Parmigiano Reggiano.

The prices recorded over the last ten weeks are listed in the table, while the graph to the side illustrates price trends over the last three years.
N.B.:
This Butter of superior quality and an integral part of the production chain, is characterized by a strong local identity in that its production is associated with a highly specific area.
On 1st January 2009 the price of Churned Butter was adjusted thanks to a recovery of Euro 0.35 per kg which was deducted from the bonus total paid to the producer (source: Parma Chamber of Commerce).
On 1st February 2012 the price of Churned Butter was adjusted further thanks to a recovery of Euro 0.35 per kg which was deducted from the bonus total paid to the producer (source: Parma Chamber of Commerce).
Italy, Parma - Weekly prices of Churned Butter made from fresh cream specifically for buttermaking
Survey Date
€ per Kg ± on prev. price
Friday 18 May 2018
3,28 +3,14%
Friday 11 May 2018
3,18 +3,25%
Friday 4 May 2018
3,08 0,00%
Friday 27 Apr 2018
3,08 +8,83%
Friday 20 Apr 2018
2,83 +14,11%
Friday 13 Apr 2018
2,48 +2,06%
Friday 6 Apr 2018
2,43 0,00%
Friday 30 Mar 2018
2,43 0,00%
Friday 23 Mar 2018
2,43 0,00%
Friday 16 Mar 2018
2,43 0,00%
n.q.: not quoted price
A bonus (accounting for 30-50%) has to be added to the above butter price paid by traders to the producers.
Prices refer to block wrapped butter, ex-dairy, payment at sight of invoice.
Source: Parma Chamber of Commerce